Do Yourself A Favor Listen To Sturgill Simpson

I’ve never been much of a country music fan.  I like some of the older country singers – Johnny Cash, Kenny Rodgers, and Willie Nelson.  But the country music today, the country music that litters the pop charts, is exactly that, it’s pop music.

Lately, I’ve been hearing a lot of a country singer by the name of Sturgill Simpson on the radio.  Maybe you have already heard of him.

I really liked a few of his songs and decided to download his album entitled Metamodern Sounds of Country Music.

It did not disappoint.  I listened to the album from beginning to end twice.  It’s totally changed the way I perceive country music.  If all country music sounded this good I would gladly spend $100 for a Countryfest ticket.

Sturgill Simpson is a combination of psychedelic rock and old time country without old time country cliches.  Simpson doesn’t sing about why women think his tractor is sexy, he sings about killing his ego and buddhism.

Simpson starts of “Just Let Go” with the verse:

Woke up today and decided to kill my ego

It ain’t ever done me no good no how

Gonna break through and blast off to the Bardo

In them flowers of light far away from the here and now’

If you haven’t heard of Sturgill Simpson yet, I suggest you give him a listen.  Here is one of my favorite songs of his called “Turtles All The Way Down.

Leave a Reply

