My First Yoga Class

Today I went to my first yoga class.  It’s something I’ve been talking about doing for sometime now, but kept putting it on the back burner for whatever reason.

I’m glad that I finally dragged myself to a class to see what it is was all about.    Here are a few observations from my first class:

– My flexibility sucks. This wasn’t a major epiphany.  I always knew my flexibility wasn’t great, but seeing the other students really hammered it home.

– Lifting heavy weights is a mistake to do before yoga.  Earlier today I went through my 3×5 workout including squats, overhead press, and deadlifts.  My muscles began cramping up a little during one of the poses.  If anything I would suggest doing yoga before heavy lifting, but never afterwards.

– I’ve had a few people tell me how surprised I’ll be by the workout that yoga gives you.  They always warned me that it’s going to be a lot tougher than I think.  While my first class wasn’t a cakewalk it wasn’t to extreme either.  Then again, this was a beginners class and not “hot yoga.”

– There’s a bevy of super feminine and super in shape women who take yoga.  On top of that I was the only man in the class. Not a bad ratio.  Yoga could be a potential goldmine to meet women.

– It made me incredibly calm.  I felt like I was high driving back to my place.  It’s no wonder that all the people I meet who do yoga constantly have big smiles plastered on their faces.   

Will I go back again?  Absolutely.  Yoga is something I can see myself doing at least once every week.

Leave a Reply

