3 Easy Ways To Build Up Your Mailing List

It’s Friday.  The sun is shining.  The last thing I thing I want is to be stuck inside writing, so I’m going to keep this short and sweet.

If you’re a self publisher you should already have a mailing list.  If you don’t, go to mailchimp.com or AWeber.com and sign up for one now.  Mailing lists are by far the best way to increase your book sales.  It’s something that I wish I did right from the start.

If you do have a mailing list be sure to have a link to it in the front and back matter of all your books.

But I’m sure you’re already doing this.  You probably clicked on this post because you have a mailing list but are having trouble getting people to sign up for it.

When I first started my mailing list I had the same problem.  A few people signed up but it wasn’t impressive to say the least.

It was only after I started giving people an incentive to sign up that I saw an increase in subscribers.

You must give readers an incentive to subscribe.  Sure, there are some readers who will sign up because they just love your work so much, but these readers are rare.

A lot of readers will just ignore the call to sign up for your mailing list.

There will also be a lot of readers on the fence.  They like your work but the last thing they want to do is sign up to another mailing list.  They have enough spam mail as it is, and they don’t need another person crowding up their inbox hawking their latest product.

If you want those readers “on the fence” to become subscribers you need to dangle a carrot in front of them to click that subscribe button.  Here are a few ways to do that.

1.  Discounts: Offer your subscribers a discount.  Tell them you will notify them of new releases through your newsletter.

I use this method.  I discount all my books half price for first 3 days after release, and make sure to notify my subscribers immediately so they can take advantage of the deal.  Here’s an example:

“All my books are discounted at $0.99 on the day of release.  Sign up for my newsletter and I will notify you of all new releases.  Never pay full price for a book again!  Sign Up Here

2. Free Book:  If you have any of your old books/ short stories lying around offer them to subscribers for free.  No one can turn down something that’s free, and if they already enjoy your writing it’s as close to a guaranteed subscriber as you’re going to get.

In the past I have signed up for mailing lists just because they have offered a free book, so I know this approach works.

3. Gift Cards: You have to spend money to make money.  If you’re having a good month in sales consider giving the opportunity for your subscriber to win a gift card.  Tell them that one random subscriber each month will have a chance to win.  I have recently started doing this and my mailing list has doubled in size in just a few months.

It doesn’t have to be much.  I offer $5 credit towards Amazon.

Conclusion

If you try one of these 3 incentives I guarantee you will build up your mailing list.  More subscribers means more sales, it’s that simple.

Leave a Reply

