Banana Pancakes Will Save Your Life

Over the past couple of years I have tried to keep gluten and sugar intake to a minimum.

Cutting out things like pasta, bread, and white rice weren’t as difficult as I thought.  I rarely find myself craving gluten.  I do however, find myself still craving something sweet after dinner.

Enter banana pancakes.

Banana pancakes are a great desert for anyone trying to cut out gluten, sugar, and need something sweet.    

Here all are all the ingredients you need:

Bananas

Eggs

Baking Powder

Cinnamon

Coconut Milk

Protein Powder (optional)

EVOO

I’ve been making big batches of banana pancakes, usually 16 at time, and leaving them in the fridge.

I peel 5 bananas and break them up in a large bowl.  I add 2 Eggs, 1/4 tsp of baking powder, 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, and about 1/4 cups of coconut milk (you can be the judge on this one, just make sure the mix doesn’t get to watery).  I also add about a scoop of vanilla protein powder.  This step is optional and may not be desirable if you don’t have a protein that mixes well with bananas.

Once every thing is in the bowl I take a potato masher and beginning mashing the ingredients together.  I mash everything until there is no large chunks of bananas.  Basically your batter should be the same consistency if you were making regular pancakes.

Get a large frying pan and coat it with EVOO.  You can also use Coconut oil or Macadamia oil but just don’t use vegetable oil (that shit is toxic).

Heat the frying pan to medium heat or a little below medium.  Pour the batter on to the pan.  I can fit about 4 pancakes per pan, do as you will.

Make sure you cook the pancakes completely on one side before flipping it.  Banana pancakes are a lot harder to flip then regular pancakes.  If they’re not cooked completely they will fall apart and make a mess.  You will know that the other side is cooked completely when the top side begins to bubble.

That’s about it.  You can slab a little Kerry Gold Butter on them after there done.  Or you can do like I do, and put some low fat greek yogurt (Fage) on top of them.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

