My New 30 Day Challenge

The 30 day challenge.  You have probably heard of it by now.  The idea behind the 30 day challenge is to perform an activity everyday for 30 days until it becomes a habit.  e.g. You drag yourself to gym for 30 straight days in hopes that it forms the new habit of going to the gym regularly.

I don’t know if there is any statistical data that actually backs this up.  It may just be a marketing gimmick created by self help gurus.  With that said, I will be attempting a 30 day challenge of my own.

My challenge is to write at least one blog post each day for the next 30 days starting today.  My only requirements for a blog post is that it has at least 200 words.  200 words may seem like a meager amount, but I don’t want to bite off more than I can chew.  I will go by the advice of “200 crappy words a day.”  I believe I got this from Steven Pressfield’s War of Art.  The idea is to set a small easily reachable goal just to get your ass in the seat and writing.  Small goals or “small chunking” prevent burnout.

Why am I doing this?

1. This isn’t my first blog.  I’ve had a few blogs in the past, but have lost interest with them.  I’m attempting this 30 day challenge with the hopes that I form a habit of becoming a more consistent writer.

2.  I enjoy writing.  The problem is getting myself to sit down and actually write.   I dread the thought of writing.  It’s only when I sit down and start typing I remember why I enjoy it.  Stating my goals to the World (or all 3 of you reading) will hold me more accountable to continue writing.

3. Stephen King said “I write to find out what I think.”  I couldn’t agree more.  When I start writing I have an idea of what I want to communicate, but as I continue my original idea takes on a new form.  I can often figure out solutions to problems that I otherwise would be ignorant to.

4.  It’s a free hobby that’s better than binge watching Netflix, vicariously living through a sports team, or excessive drinking.  Writing opens my mind up to new ideas and forces me to use my brain.  Writing is about becoming a producer rather than a mindless consumer.

Will I stick with this 30 day challenge?  Or will I lose interest and let this blog fade into the oblivion of the internet?

Only time will tell…

Leave a Reply

